When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel

When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel by Suzanne Kelman 1838882529 9781838882525
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $12.99

Quantity:40

 
ISBN: 1838882529


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her...

1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years.

Present day, London: When Sophie discovers a photograph of her great aunt Vivi from World War Two, it throws her into a world of confusion. Because, as she learns about this secret relative, she quickly realises that the photograph doesnt fit with her familys story. It shows Vivi leaving an address associated with a spy network in London - a place she had no reason to be - and it is dated right before she disappeared.

Meanwhile Sophies own life feels as blasted and bombed as the blitzed city in the photograph shes looking at. Her beautiful daughter - as full of joy and wild energy as Vivi had apparently once been - is gone; and Sophies heart has been left broken into pieces.

Retreating to the family home in rural Cornwall to seek solace from her pain and the feelings of guilt that she could have done more to protect her daughter, Sophie finds herself becoming obsessed with Vivis life.

But nothing can prepare Sophie for what she is about to uncover - the story of a woman who risked everything for the person she loved the most; and a secret family history that could be the key to Sophies own future.

A powerful, haunting and unforgettable read about love, heartbreak and betrayal set in Second World War Britain and France. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Under a Scarlet Sky and My Name is Eva.

Readers love Suzanne Kelman:

If only there were more than 5 stars to give, I would not hesitate... Heartbreaking and inspiring... the pages turn quickly... I know I will think often of this book. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A fantastic novel... Historical fiction at its best. Characters that you fall in love with, a story you will hate to end. NetGalley Reviewer

I loved everything about this book, the story the characters... Such an emotional story. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Captivating and emotional... well researched and beautifully written. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Loved it!!!... It was hard to put down. NetGalley Reviewer

Having read A View Across the Rooftops, I was hooked on this FANTASTIC author. When We Were Brave is another OUTSTANDING piece of fantastic writing... I have nothing but total admiration for this author. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I finished it in a day... Cant wait to see what the author comes up with next. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A heartbreaking tale of war, love, loss, betrayal and courage... Wonderful. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I truly enjoyed every aspect of this book... This book will stay with me. Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Author: Suzanne Kelman

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 318

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 2020-02-20


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback