We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies

We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies by Tsering Yangzom Lama 1635576415 9781635576412
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $23.49

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 1635576415


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

International Bestseller
Named a Most Anticipated Book by:
The Millions * Ms. Magazine * Bustle * Glamour
For readers of Homegoing and The Leavers, a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan familys journey through exile.

In the wake of Chinas invasion of Tibet throughout the 1950s, Lhamo and her younger sister, Tenkyi, arrive at a refugee camp in Nepal. They survived the dangerous journey across the Himalayas, but their parents did not. As Lhamo--haunted by the loss of her homeland and her mother, a village oracle--tries to rebuild a life amid a shattered community, hope arrives in the form of a young man named Samphel and his uncle, who brings with him the ancient statue of the Nameless Saint--a relic known to vanish and reappear in times of need.

Decades later, the sisters are separated, and Tenkyi is living with Lhamos daughter, Dolma, in Toronto. While Tenkyi works as a cleaner and struggles with traumatic memories, Dolma vies for a place as a scholar of Tibetan Studies. But when Dolma comes across the Nameless Saint in a collectors vault, she must decide what she is willing to do for her community, even if it means risking her dreams.

Breathtaking in its scope and powerful in its intimacy, We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies is a gorgeously written meditation on colonization, displacement, and the lengths well go to remain connected to our families and ancestral lands. Told through the lives of four people over fifty years, this novel provides a nuanced, moving portrait of the little-known world of Tibetan exiles.

Author: Tsering Yangzom Lama

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 368

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publication Date: 2022-05-17


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover
Binding > Paperback