We Dream of Space

We Dream of Space by Erin Entrada Kelly 0062747304 9780062747303
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $19.03

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 0062747304


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

A Newbery Honor Book - BookPage Best Books - Chicago Public Library Best Fiction - Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee - Horn Book Fanfare - New York Times Notable Childrens Book - School Library Journal Best Book - Today Show Pick - An ALA Notable Book

"A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space."--Time for Kids

Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesnt understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASAs first female shuttle commander, but feels like shes disappearing.

The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project--they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers.

We Dream of Space is illustrated throughout by the author.

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 400

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publication Date: 2020-05-05


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover