Voyager: Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery

Voyager: Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery Stephen J. Pyne 0670021830 9780670021833 A brilliant new account of the Voyager space program-its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy Launched in 1977,
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 
Our Price: $5.27

Quantity:4

 
ISBN: 0670021830


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

A brilliant new account of the Voyager space program-its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history. For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers. The Renaissance and Enlightenment-the First and Second Ages of Discovery- sent humans across continents and oceans to find new worlds. In the Third Age, expeditions have penetrated the Antarctic ice, reached the floors of the oceans, and traveled to the planets by new means, most spectacularly via semi-autonomous robot. Voyagerprobes how the themes of motive and reward are stunningly parallel through all three ages. Voyager, which gave us the first breathtaking images of Jupiter and Saturn, changed our sense of our own place in the universe.

Author: Stephen J. Pyne

Language: English

Edition: First Edition

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 464

Publisher: Viking

Publication Date: 2010-07-22


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover