Skip to content

  Home > Binding > Mass Market Paperback >

Thunder on the Mountain: A Novel of 1936 (Hemlock County)
Thunder on the Mountain: A Novel of 1936 (Hemlock County) David Poyer 0812540042 9780812540048 Thunder on the Mountain, David Poyer revisits the terrible winter of 1936 when a strike to organize the workers in the Thunder Oil Company is called after
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

Thunder on the Mountain: A Novel of 1936 (Hemlock County) by David Poyer

Thunder on the Mountain, David Poyer revisits the terrible winter of 1936 when a strike to organize the workers in the Thunder Oil Company is called after a refinery disaster exposes the companys contempt for workers safety. W. T. Kid Nitro Halvorsen, a young boxer and well shooter, becomes a leader of the strike against Daniel Thunners beloved family company. The strike draws national attention, which increases with the arrival of ruthless strikebreaker Pearl Deatherage and of determined CIO organizer Doris Gurley Golden. As the unrest spreads in scale and fury, Halvorsen and Thunner must put their ideas of honor and morality to the test. In a high-stakes game of one-upsmanship and violence, who will prove himself king of the mountain?<P>Packed with insight, vivid characters, and a burning concern for justice, Thunder on the Mountain is a tough, penetrating, violent novel in the tradition of Jack London, John Steinbeck, E. L. Doctorow, and Mary Lee Settle -- and, now, David Poyer.

Author: David Poyer

Language: English

Edition: First Edition

Binding: Mass Market Paperback

Pages: 432

Publisher: Forge Books

Publication Date: 2000-08-15

Our Price: $4.19

Quantity:1
ISBN: 0812540042


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
David Poyer (Edition: First Edition) Mass Market Paperback


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Mass Market Paperback

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.