The Smell of Other People's Houses

The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock 0553497812 9780553497816
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $3.85

Quantity:12

 
ISBN: 0553497812


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

"Bonnie-Sue Hitchcocks Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar.... A thrilling, arresting debut." --Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here

"[A] singular debut. . . . [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice." --The Wall Street Journal

This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of Americas Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she cant hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life shes always known on her familys fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide its safer to run away than to stay home--until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other--and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

Praise:
William C. Morris Finalist
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal
Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction
Tayshas Reading List--Top 10 List
New York Public Librarys Best 50 Books for Teens
Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List
Shelf Awareness, Best Childrens & Teen Books of the Year
Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List
Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award

"Hitchcocks debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study--a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age." --John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior

"As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there." --Bustle

Author: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 240

Publisher: Ember

Publication Date: 2017-02-21


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Specials > Bargain Bin Books