Skip to content

  Home > View Categories > Travel >

The Old Iron Road: An Epic of Rails, Roads, and the Urge to Go West
The Old Iron Road: An Epic of Rails, Roads, and the Urge to Go West David Haward Bain 0670033081 9780670033089 In the summer of 2000, David Haward Bain and his family left their home in Vermont and headed west in search of America? past. From Omaha t
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

The Old Iron Road: An Epic of Rails, Roads, and the Urge to Go West by David Haward Bain

In the summer of 2000, David Haward Bain and his family left their home in Vermont and headed west in search of America? past. From Omaha to San Francisco, Bain and his family retraced the entire route of the first transcontinental railroad. Following abandoned railroad tracks and the traces of old wagon trails, cruising down back roads and main streets, they discovered the deep, restless, uniquely American spirit of adventure that connects our past to our present.A superb writer and an exacting researcher, Bain conjures up the marvelous sense of coming unstuck in time as he lingers in the ghost towns and battlegrounds, prairies and river ports, train yards, museums, and diners that line the old emigrant routes of the railroad and the Lincoln Highway. As he cruises west to California, Bain encounters a fascinating cast of characters, both historic and contemporary?rom Willa Cather to Marlon Brando, from pathfinder John Fremont to naturalist Terry Tempest Williams. Here, too, are memories of Bain? own grandparents and the journeys that shaped his own heritage.Writing in the tradition of William Least Heat-Moon and Ian Frazier, yet with an engaging warmth and a deep grasp of history all his own, Bain has fashioned a quintessentially American journey.

Author: David Haward Bain

Language: English

Edition: 1ST

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 464

Publisher: Viking Adult

Publication Date: 2004-05-11

Our Price: $3.89

Quantity:7
ISBN: 0670033081


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
David Haward Bain (Edition: 1ST) Hardcover


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

View Categories > Travel
View Categories > Travel > Food, Lodging & Transportation
View Categories > Travel > Travel Writing
View Categories > History
View Categories > History > Americas
Binding > Hardcover
View Categories
Binding

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.