The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life

The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life by Kyle Beachy 1538754118 9781538754115
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $26.51

Quantity:10

 
ISBN: 1538754118


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

Perfect for fans of Barbarian Days, this memoir in essays follows one mans decade-long quest to uncover the hidden meaning of skateboarding, and explores how this search led unexpectedly to insights on marriage, love, loss, American invention, and growing old.

In January 2012, creative writing professor and novelist Kyle Beachy published one of his first essays on skate culture, an exploration of how Nikes corporate strategy successfully gutted the once-mighty independent skate shoe market. Beachy has since established himself as skate cultures freshest, most illuminating, at times most controversial voice, writing candidly about the increasingly popular and fast-changing pastime he first picked up as a young boy and has continued to practice well into adulthood.

What is skateboarding? What does it mean to continue skateboarding after the age of forty, four decades after the kickflip was invented? How does one live authentically as an adult while staying true to a passion cemented in childhood? How does skateboarding shape ones understanding of contemporary American life? Of growing old and getting married?

Contemplating these questions and more, Beachy offers a deep exploration of a pastime--often overlooked, regularly maligned--whose seeming simplicity conceals universal truths. THE MOST FUN THING is both a rich account of a hobby and a collection of the lessons skateboarding has taught Beachy--and what it continues to teach him as he strugglesto find space for it as an adult, a professor, and a husband.

Author: Kyle Beachy

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 320

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publication Date: 2021-08-10


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover