The Memory Keeper of Kyiv

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv by Erin Litteken 1804157643 9781804157640
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $20.99

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 1804157643


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

"A powerfully moving debut . . . Ukraines tragic history painfully echoes its current crisis, and on every page the Ukrainian spirit shines out, unbowed, unbent and unbroken. This is a compelling, timely read." Kate Quinn, author of The Rose Code


In the 1930s, Stalins activists marched through the Soviet Union, espousing the greatness of collective farming. It was the first step in creating a man-made famine that, in Ukraine, stole almost 4 million lives. Inspired by the history the world forgot, and the Russian government denies, Erin Litteken reimagines their story.In 1929, Katya is 16 years old, surrounded by family and in love with the boy next door. When Stalins activists arrive in her village, its just a few, a little pressure to join the collective. But soon neighbors disappear, those who speak out are never seen again and every new day is uncertain.

Resistance has a price, and as desperate hunger grips the countryside, survival seems more a dream than a possibility. But, even in the darkest times, love beckons.

Seventy years later, a young widow discovers her grandmothers journal, one that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her familys haunted past.

This is a story of the resilience of the human spirit, the love that sees us through our darkest hours and the true horror of what happened during the Holodomor.

"I never imagined the release of my novel on a past oppression of the Ukrainian people would coincide with such a parallel tragedy." Erin Litteken


May we never forget, lest history repeat itself.


A share of proceeds will be donated to DECs Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal.


"Emotionally riveting and honest . . . simultaneously shines an unflinching light on historical atrocities while it celebrates the resilience of the human spirit. You wont soon forget this stunning debut." Paulette Kennedy, author of Parting the Veil


"Breathtaking. Devastating. Erin Littekens The Memory Keeper of Kyiv chronicles a defining but forgotten moment of Ukrainian history." Amanda McCrina, The Silent Unseen.

Author: Erin Litteken

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 350

Publisher: Boldwood Books

Publication Date: 2022-05-16


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Binding > Hardcover