The Lost Girl of Berlin: Gripping and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical fiction (Daughters of New York)

The Lost Girl of Berlin: Gripping and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical fiction (Daughters of New York) by Ella Carey 1800192177 9781800192171
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $17.57

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 1800192177


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The childs eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her...


1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winters day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.


Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of post-war life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more.


Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted and faces prison.


Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia-will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home...


From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated.


What readers are saying about Ella Carey:


"I wish I could give this beautiful book more stars! It is absolutely a Five Star Gold book! It is so well written and historical fiction at its finest!" Goodreads reviewer

Author: Ella Carey

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 324

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 2021-07-08


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback