The Jane Austen Society: A Novel

The Jane Austen Society: A Novel by Natalie Jenner 1250248736 9781250248732
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.73

Quantity:37

 
ISBN: 1250248736


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

* INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *

This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism. --People

Fans of The Chilbury Ladies Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal. --Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of Englands finest novelists. Now its home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austens legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austens home and her legacy. These people--a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others--could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.

A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenners The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come.

Author: Natalie Jenner

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 320

Publisher: St. Martins Press

Publication Date: 2020-05-26


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »