The Irish Nanny: An absolutely heart-wrenching Irish WW2 story

The Irish Nanny: An absolutely heart-wrenching Irish WW2 story by Sandy Taylor 1800198140 9781800198142
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $9.87

Quantity:41

 
ISBN: 1800198140


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

There is a fierce wind blowing in from the sea, as I step off the boat towards my new life in America. The baby is a warm weight in my arms and I pause to adjust her, trying not to think about what we left behind. I cant look back now, I need to keep this child safe...


Ireland 1939. When hardworking chambermaid Rose meets an American businessman in the hotel where she works in Cork, he makes her an offer she cant refuse. Rose doesnt want to leave home, but her widowed mammy and three younger sisters need the money shed earn in her new job as a nanny to David Townsends two young children.


Just as Rose is settling into her new life caring for Raphael and new-born baby Sarah, the world is plunged into war and David is called back to New York, leaving Rose to follow by boat with his wife and children. But disaster strikes when the ship they are on is hit by a torpedo. Separated from her group in the awful chaos, Rose has an impossible decision to make. Does she stay and search for the family she owes so much to? Or does she leave on the lifeboat to save the tiny baby left in her care?


Landing on American shores, all Roses hopes of leaving the howling air-raid sirens and deafening bombs behind her are shattered as tragic news arrives from Pearl Harbor. Looking down at the innocent child in her arms, Rose knows that she must find the strength to survive and reunite this little girl with her family. But as fear and panic grips the country, what heartbreaking sacrifices will she have to make to protect her precious charge?


An emotional, heart-wrenching story of love and family set across Ireland and America during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Jean Grainger, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe.


Readers love Sandy Taylor:


Wow... I absolutely loved this book. Warning: keep the tissues handy! Goodreads reviewer,


Gut-wrenching... Brought me to tears numerous times. Stacy is Reading,


Writing this through tears, the funniest, most tearful book Ive ever read. Fantastic. Goodreads reviewer,


Author: Sandy Taylor

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 346

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 2021-07-26


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »