The House That Lou Built

The House That Lou Built by Mae Respicio 1524717975 9781524717971
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.80

Quantity:44

 
ISBN: 1524717975


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
If this book were a house, the rooms would be filled with warmth, family, and friendship. --Erin Entrada Kelly, author of the Newbery Medal winner Hello, Universe; The Land of Forgotten Girls; and Blackbird Fly

A coming-of-age story that explores culture and family, forgiveness and friendship, and what makes a true home. Perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Joan Bauer.

Lou Bulosan-Nelson has the ultimate summer DIY project. Shes going to build her own tiny house, 100 square feet all her own. She shares a room with her mom in her grandmothers house, and longs for a place where she can escape her crazy but lovable extended Filipino family. Lou enjoys her woodshop class and creating projects, and she plans to build the house on land she inherited from her dad, who died before she was born. But then she finds out that the land may not be hers for much longer.

Lou discovers its not easy to save her land, or to build a house. But she wont give up; with the help of friends and relatives, her dream begins to take shape, and she learns the deeper meaning of home and family.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

Equal parts girl-heart, muscle and know-how for todays reader. Endearing to the end. --Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery-Honor-and-Coretta-Scott King -Award-winning author of the National Book Award Finalist Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Warm, funny and affirming. As we get to know Lou, her extended Filipino family, and friends, the door opens into her life and, ultimately, her home. --Lisa Yee, author of the Millicent Min trilogy, The Kidney Hypothetical, the DC Super Hero Girls series, and other books

There couldnt be a hero more determined, resourceful or lovable than Lucinda Bulosan-Nelson. Her big dream of a tiny house is irresistible. --Tricia Springstubb, author of Every Single Second, What Happened on Fox Street, Moonpenny Island, and the Cody series

I fell in love with Lou and her wonderful extended family. This story may be about a tiny house, but it has an enormous heart. --Kate Messner, author of The Exact Location of Home

Author: Mae Respicio

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 240

Publisher: Yearling

Publication Date: 2019-07-09


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback