Skip to content

  Home > View Categories > Literature & Fiction >

The Hearts of Horses
The Hearts of Horses by Molly Gloss 0618799907 9780618799909
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

The Hearts of Horses by Molly Gloss

A breakout novel from the author of The Jump-Off Creek, the heartwarming story of a determined young woman with a gift for gentling wild horses. In the winter of 1917, when a young woman shows up at his doorstep looking for work breaking horses, George Bliss hires her on. Many of his regular hands are off fighting the war, and he glimpses, beneath her showy rodeo garb, a shy but feisty girl with a serious knowledge of horses. So begins the irresistible tale of nineteen-year-old Martha Lessen, a female horse whisperer trying to make a go of it in a mans world. At the time, it was thought that the only way to break a horse was to buck the wild out of him, but when the ranchers in this remote county of Eastern Oregon witness Martha talking in sweet tones to horses believed beyond repair -- and getting miraculous results -- she earns a place of respect in the community. Along the way, she helps a family save their horses when their wagon slides into a ravine; she gentles a horse for a dying man -- a last gift to his young son; she clashes with a hired hand who is abusing horses in unspeakable ways; and gradually, she comes to feel enveloped by a sense of belonging and family shes never had before. With the elegant sweetness of Plainsong and a pitch-perfect sense of western life reminiscent of Annie Dillard, The Hearts of Horses is a remarkable story about the connections between and among people and animals and how they touch one another in the most unexpected and profound ways. Fans of Kent Haruf and Leif Enger will fall adore this gentle, lovely novel and bookseller fans will be thrilled to handsell the first Molly Gloss hardcover to be published by Houghton.

Author: Molly Gloss

Language: English

Edition: None

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 289

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Publication Date: 2007-11-06

Our Price: $3.89

Quantity:7
ISBN: 0618799907


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Molly Gloss (Edition: None) Hardcover


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

View Categories > Literature & Fiction
View Categories > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction
Genre Fiction
View Categories > Literature & Fiction > Literary
Literary
View Categories > Literature & Fiction > Contemporary
Contemporary
View Categories > Literature & Fiction > United States
United States
Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.