The Heart of the Deal: A Novel

The Heart of the Deal: A Novel by Lindsay MacMillan 1639100105 9781639100101
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.74

Quantity:54

 
ISBN: 1639100105


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jojo Moyes, Lindsay MacMillans debut novel deftly captures the feeling of being adrift in your late twenties, with poignant commentary on female friendships, mental health, and what happiness really looks like.

Rae is in a romantic recession.

The Wall Street banker is single in New York City and overwhelmed by the pressure to scramble up the corporate and romantic ladders. Feeling her biological clock ticking, she analyzes her love life like a business deal and vows to lock in a husband before her 30th birthday.

The Manhattan dating app scene has as many ups and downs as the stock market, and outsourcing dates to an algorithm isnt exactly Raes idea of romance. She considers cutting her losses, but her friends help her stay invested, boosting her spirits with ice cream and cheap wine that they share in their sixth-floor walk-up while recapping cringe-worthy dates.

And then Rae meets Dustin, a poetic soul trapped in a business suit, just like her. She starts to hear wedding bells, but Dustins struggles with depression will test their relationship, and no amount of financial modeling can project what their future will look like.

Can Rae free herself from the idea she had of what thirty was supposed to look like and let love breathe on its own timeline? Or is she too conditioned to stay on the "right track" to follow her unpaved intuition?

Moving and timely, The Heart of the Deal is the story of one womans reckoning with what success really is in a city, an industry, and a relationship whose low lows continually challenge the enchantment of the high highs.

Author: Lindsay MacMillan

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 352

Publisher: Alcove Press

Publication Date: 2022-06-07


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback