The Half Life of Valery K

The Half Life of Valery K by Natasha Pulley 1635573270 9781635573275
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $27.42

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 1635573270


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

From the author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street and The Kingdoms, an epic Cold War novel set in a mysterious town in Soviet Russia.

In 1963, in a Siberian prison, former nuclear specialist Valery Kolkhanov has mastered what it takes to survive: the right connections to the guards for access to food and cigarettes, the right pair of warm boots, and the right attitude toward the small pleasures of life so he wont go insane. But one day, all that changes: Valerys university mentor steps in and sweeps him from the frozen camp to a mysterious unnamed city. It houses a set of nuclear reactors, and surrounding it is a forest so damaged it looks like the trees have rusted from within.

In City 40, Valery is Dr. Kolkhanov once more, and hes expected to serve out his prison term studying the effect of radiation on local animals. But as Valery begins his work, he is struck by the questions his research raises. Why is there so much radiation in this area? What, exactly, is being hidden from the thousands who live in the town? And if he keeps looking for answers, will he live to serve out his sentence?

Based on real events in a surreal Soviet city, and told with bestselling author Natasha Pulleys inimitable style, The Half Life of Valery K is a sweeping new adventure for readers of Stuart Turton and Sarah Gailey.

Author: Natasha Pulley

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 384

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publication Date: 2022-07-26


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback