Skip to content

  Home > Binding > Hardcover >

The Glimmer Palace
The Glimmer Palace by Beatrice Colin 1594489858 9781594489853
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

The Glimmer Palace by Beatrice Colin

In the tradition of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters, a literary historical novel about an orphan girl? journey from poverty to film stardom, set against the grand backdrop of World War I Berlin, the cabaret era, the run-up to World War II, and the innovations in art and industry that accompanied it all. Big, rich, intelligent, and masterfully written, here is a page-turning story of glitter and splendor, drama and love, friendship and identity, and an illuminating account of a period of history that foreshadowed much of the twentieth century. As the clock chimes the turn of the twentieth century, Lilly Nelly Aphrodite takes her first breath. The illegitimate, orphaned daughter of a cabaret performer, she finds early refuge at a Berlin Catholic orphanage. From there follows a lifetime of reinventions, from orphan to maid, war bride, tingle-tangle nightclub girl, and script typist. Her eventual transformation into one of Germany? leading silent-film stars, and a partner in a remarkable romance that crosses decades and continents, could ultimately cost her everything she has worked for. Gripping and seductive like few other literary novels, The Glimmer Palaceshowcases the glamour, spectacle, and theatrical energy of the brief heyday of the Weimar Republic, while at the same time telling the story of that other great twentieth-century illusion?inema.

Author: Beatrice Colin

Language: English

Edition: 1ST

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 416

Publisher: Riverhead Hardcover

Publication Date: 2008-07-24

Our Price: $4.09

Quantity:5
 
ISBN: 1594489858


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Beatrice Colin (Edition: 1ST) Hardcover

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.