The Girl in the Letter

The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis 1472255097 9781472255099
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.56

Quantity:46

 
ISBN: 1472255097


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

Read her letter. Remember her story...

Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once youve heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margarets, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave.

Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margarets before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivys tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margarets dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margarets so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margarets, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...

Author: Emily Gunnis

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 384

Publisher: Headline

Publication Date: 2019-07-30


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback