The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain by Annie Murphy Paul 0358695279 9780358695271
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $20.71

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 0358695279


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships.

Use your head.

Thats what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that weve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us--can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, and psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardners Frames of Mind or Daniel Golemans Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, with practical advice on how we can all think better.

Author: Annie Murphy Paul

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 368

Publisher: Mariner Books

Publication Date: 2022-05-10


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback