The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction by Lily Graham 1838880690 9781838880699
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $5.74

Quantity:41

 
ISBN: 1838880690


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand...

As the days pass, the two women learn each others hopes and dreams - Evas is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofies is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy...

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each others children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

Readers are captivated by The Child of Auschwitz:

This hauntingly heart-breaking story is one of pure, instinctual survival. It is a story of fierce friendships, unbreakable spirits, and the most powerful love possible ... I was so spellbound by this captivating, riveting read that I could not put it down until I read every last word. Goodreads Reviewer,

This book grabbed me from the first sentence and didnt let me go for the entire journey. I had goosebumps while reading... It is a beautiful story. Goodreads Reviewer,

You will cry, you will be addicted from the start and will find it hard to put down. This book ranks high on my favourite books list a BRILLIANT book and worth far more than 5* in my opinion EXCELLENT. Goodreads Reviewer,

A book that plays with your emotions, sad and poignant in parts and a book I just couldnt put down. A compelling, haunting story. Read it in one day. Goodreads Reviewer,

Author: Lily Graham

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 242

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 2019-11-11


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »