The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel by Jennifer Ryan 1101906774 9781101906774
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $3.85

Quantity:57

 
ISBN: 1101906774


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - "A delightful debut."--People

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicars stuffy edict to close the choir and instead "carry on singing," resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.

An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryans debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

Author: Jennifer Ryan

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 432

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Publication Date: 2017-09-05


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Jennifer Ryan