The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown 067002581X 9780670025817
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.59

Quantity:63

 
ISBN: 067002581X


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany--from the author of Facing the Mountain.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washingtons eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young mans personal quest.

Author: Daniel James Brown

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 416

Publisher: Viking

Publication Date: 2013-01-01


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover
Daniel James Brown
Binding > Board Book