The Black Kids

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed 1534462724 9781534462724
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $5.06

Quantity:48

 
ISBN: 1534462724


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
A New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

"Should be required reading in every classroom." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
"A true love letter to Los Angeles." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
"A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history." --Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Mondays Not Coming

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. Its the end of senior year and theyre spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashleys not just one of the girls. Shes one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family faade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Author: Christina Hammonds Reed

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 368

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: 2020-08-04


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover