The Awakening and Selected Stories (Wordsworth Classics)

The Awakening and Selected Stories (Wordsworth Classics) by Kate Chopin 184022584X 9781840225846
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


Our Price: $4.78


ISBN: 184022584X

New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]


This is the first paperback edition to bring out in one volume Kate Chopins extraordinary novel The Awakening (1899), along with the complete text of her two collections of short stories, Bayou Folk (1894) and A Night in Acadie (1897), and twelve uncollected tales.
The Awakening is a strikingly modern, evocative story of self-discovery and female emancipation, set in the sensuous environment of Southern Louisiana, where the young Edna Pontellier reclaims her own individuality, refusing to be defined by her roles of wife and mother.
Chopins stories are brilliantly observed, compassionate and often humorous, alert to the foibles, weaknesses and small triumphs of her characters. Overshadowed by the relatively recent fame of The Awakening, they contain some of the best work of this remarkably original author.

Author: Kate Chopin

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 544

Publisher: Wordsworth Editions

Publication Date: 2015-11-01

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Kate Chopin