Texas: The Great Theft

Texas: The Great Theft by Carmen Boullosa 1941920004 9781941920008
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $17.96

Quantity:28

 
ISBN: 1941920004


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

Mexicos greatest woman writer.--Roberto Bolao

A luminous writer . . . Boullosa is a masterful spinner of the fantastic--Miami Herald

An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland. Boullosa views border history through distinctly Mexican eyes, and her sympathetic portrayal of each of her wildly diverse characters--Mexican ranchers and Texas Rangers, Comanches and cowboys, German socialists and runaway slaves, Southern belles and dancehall girls--makes her storytelling tremendously powerful and absorbing.

Shedding important historical light on current battles over the Mexican-American frontier while telling a gripping story with Boullosas singular prose and formal innovation, Texas marks the welcome return of a major writer who has previously captivated American audiences and is poised to do so again.

Carmen Boullosa (b. 1954) is one of Mexicos leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. Author of seventeen novels, her books have been translated into numerous world languages. Recipient of numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship, Boullosa is currently Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York.

Samantha Schnee is founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders. She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope, and her translations have appeared in the Guardian, Granta, and the New York Times.

Author: Carmen Boullosa

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 304

Publisher: Deep Vellum Publishing

Publication Date: 2014-12-02


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback