Skip to content

  Home > Binding > Paperback >

Once Removed: A Novel
Once Removed: A Novel Mako Yoshikawa 0553380982 9780553380989 TheWashington Postpraised Mako Yoshikawas extraordinary first novel,One Hundred and One Ways, as strikingly assured. TheOrlando Sentinelcalled it an impressive accompli
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

Once Removed: A Novel by Mako Yoshikawa

TheWashington Postpraised Mako Yoshikawas extraordinary first novel,One Hundred and One Ways, as strikingly assured. TheOrlando Sentinelcalled it an impressive accomplishment. InOnce Removed, Yoshikawa continues in the tradition of Alice Walker and Amy Tan with a powerful story of two women from different cultures who form a deep friendship that, though severely tested, can never be broken. It has been many long years since Claudia last saw her Japanese-American stepsister. Once upon a time, Claudias Jewish father fell in love with Reis Japanese mother and abandoned his family to be with her. Though Claudia resented this new family her father so readily embraced, from the moment she and Rei met, the two girls formed a bond not even their parents understood. Their long-standing joke is that they are mirror reflections of each other--though in truth they are striking opposites. Claudia is blond and large-boned; Rei is dark-haired and thin, with distinct Asian features. Now in their early thirties, Claudia and Rei have found a way back into each others troubled life. As impulsively affectionate as ever, Rei has come to Boston to recuperate from a potentially life-threatening illness, while the typically cautious Claudia has found herself replicating the behavior of her step-mother by falling in love with a married man. As they come together, the two women realize they must strike a balance between the friendship they long to recover and the secrets they have learned to keep. And they discover that despite the distance that has grown between them, their bond is as strong as ever--and could help them repair the other wounded relationships in their lives. Lyrical, evocative, and richly imagined,Once Removedis an exceptional tale of two families, two cultures, and the connection between two women that survives the betrayals of those around them. Taking us from the exotic Japan of the 1940s and 50s, to the verdant English countryside, to the urban streets of Boston, Mako Yoshikawa is a gifted storyteller who has firmly established her place in contemporary fiction. From the Hardcover edition.

Author: Mako Yoshikawa

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 304

Publisher: Bantam

Publication Date: 2004-06-29

Our Price: $4.29

Quantity:2
ISBN: 0553380982


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Mako Yoshikawa  Paperback


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.