Skip to content

  Home > Shop Categories > Biographies & Memoirs >

Nicholas: The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus
Nicholas: The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus by Jeremy Seal 1582344191 9781582344195
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Nicholas: The Epic Journey from Saint to Santa Claus by Jeremy Seal

An elegantly written, idiosyncratic biography of Santa Claus, from his saintly origins inTurkeyto his current reign as the king of Christmas. nbsp; Nicholasis a biographical travelogue tracing the evolution of one of the greatest cults of modern timesthe rise of Santa Claus from his origins in Byzantine Turkey to his role as the jolly man who grants every childs wish. It is a compelling story of religious worship and strife, cultural interpretation, and mass commercialization brilliantly framed by Jeremy Seals modern-day voyage in Santas footsteps. Saint Nicholas, as Santa was originally known, lived and worked in Myra on the southern coast of Turkey 1,700 years ago. He became a revered figure in the Orthodox and Catholic churches, attracting devotees across the Christian world as his cult shifted westward with the centuries. The saints bones are said to still exist, and Seals dogged pursuit of these relics launches his quest for Santas true lineageone that takes him through present-day Turkey, Italy, Holland, England, America, and finally Lapland as he pieces together the history of this extraordinary man-to-myth transformation. In the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Tony Horowitz, Jeremy Seal is a natural storyteller, weaving fascinating history and intrepid travelogue into a book every bit as enchanting as its subject

Author: Jeremy Seal

Language: English

Edition: 1ST

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 368

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

Publication Date: 2005-11-01

Our Price: $4.24

Quantity:4
 
ISBN: 1582344191


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Jeremy Seal (Edition: 1ST) Hardcover

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Shop Categories > Biographies & Memoirs
Shop Categories > Biographies & Memoirs > Travelers & Explorers
Travelers & Explorers
Shop Categories > Travel
Shop Categories > Travel > Middle East
Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.