Skip to content

  Home > Shop Categories > Humor & Entertainment >

Never Let a Fool Kiss You or a Kiss Fool You : Chiasmus and a World of Quotations That Say What They Mean and Mean What They Say
Never Let a Fool Kiss You or a Kiss Fool You : Chiasmus and a World of Quotations That Say What They Mean and Mean What They Say by Mardy Grothe 0670878278 9780670878277
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Never Let a Fool Kiss You or a Kiss Fool You : Chiasmus and a World of Quotations That Say What They Mean and Mean What They Say by Mardy Grothe

Pardon me -- do you know what chiasmus means? Heres a hint: Mae West used chiasmus in her signature line Its not the men in my life; its the life in my men. So did John F. Kennedy: Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.<P>Language maven Dr. Mardy Grothe discovered that many of the worlds great wags and eloquent orators have been virtual masters of chiasmus -- Churchill, Wilde, Shaw, Ben Franklin, Samuel Johnson, and Shakespeare, to name just a handful. In this unprecedented and quotable collection, he assembles the best examples of chiasmus ever written or spoken. Not since the oxymoron, the palindrome, or An Exaltation of Larks has there been a whole new category of wordplay so likely to fire the public imagination. In the tradition of Woe Is I and The Transitive Vampire, Never Let a Fool Kiss You ... will make chiasmus a household word and help you wax profound in the company of the greatest wits of all time.

Author: Mardy Grothe

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 112

Publisher: Viking Adult

Publication Date: 1999-07-01

Our Price: $4.29

Quantity:3
 
ISBN: 0670878278


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Mardy Grothe  Hardcover

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Shop Categories > Humor & Entertainment
Shop Categories > Humor & Entertainment > Humor
Shop Categories > Reference
Shop Categories > Reference > Dictionaries & Thesauruses
Dictionaries & Thesauruses
Shop Categories > Reference > Encyclopedias & Subject Guides
Encyclopedias & Subject Guides
Shop Categories > Reference > Quotations
Quotations
Shop Categories > Reference > Words, Language & Grammar
Words, Language & Grammar
Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.