Home > View Categories > History >

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 
Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Langes unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Langes stature as one of the twentieth centurys greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Armythe majority of which have never been publishedImpounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniacs A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. 104 photographs.      

Author: Gordon, Linda

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

Publication Date: 2006-11-01

Our Price: $7.79
SUPER DEAL: $7.79

Used Quantity:(Out of Stock)
ISBN: 039306073X
Quantity:

Description
 
Gordon, Linda  Hardcover


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

View Categories > History
View Categories > History > Americas
View Categories > Arts & Photography
View Categories > Arts & Photography > Photography & Video
View Categories > Arts & Photography > Individual Artists
View Categories