Skip to content
DiscoverBooks app logo Download the Discover Books app Open close button

 

Gracefully Insane: Life and Death Inside America's Premier Mental Hospital

Gracefully Insane: Life and Death Inside America's Premier Mental Hospital by Alex Beam 1586481614 9781586481612
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat.Gracefully Insane, byBoston Globecolumnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protg whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age. This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath'sThe Bell Jarand Susanna Kaysen'sGirl, Interrupted(both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.      

Author: Alex Beam

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 296

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Our Price: $5.00

Quantity:42

 
ISBN: 1586481614


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Alex Beam  Paperback

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Alex Beam

* Free Shipping applies to all orders of $9 or more shipped to the contiguous 48 United States.