Skip to content

  Home > Binding > Hardcover >

Fame Junkies: The Hidden Truths Behind Americas Favorite Addiction
Fame Junkies: The Hidden Truths Behind Americas Favorite Addiction by Jake Halpern 0618453695 9780618453696
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

Fame Junkies: The Hidden Truths Behind Americas Favorite Addiction by Jake Halpern

A prismatic portrait of our national obsession with celebrity, in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and Blink For several years, Jake Halpern has reported on Hollywood for NPRs All Things Considered. In his new book, he explores the fascinating and often dark implications of Americas obsession with fame. Why do more people watch the ultimate competition for celebrityhood, American Idol, than watch the nightly news on the three major networks combined? Why do seemingly normal, educated people care about Paris Hiltons dating life? Why do teenage girls - when given the option of pressing a magic button and becoming either stronger, smarter, famous, or more beautiful - overwhelmingly opt for fame? Halpern answers these and other questions by traveling to Americas fame factories and profiling a colorful and surprisingly insightful cast of characters, including diehard fans, aspiring stars, and celebrities like Rod Stewart and U2s The Edge. Interspersing these stories with new research including original findings from his own fame survey. Halpern helps us understand how psychology, technology, evolution, and profit conspire to make us so enthralled with the world of red carpets and velvet ropes.

Author: Jake Halpern

Language: English

Edition: 1

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 226

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Publication Date: 2006-12-11

Our Price: $4.19

Quantity:6
ISBN: 0618453695


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Jake Halpern (Edition: 1) Hardcover


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.