Skip to content

  Home > View Categories > Literature & Fiction >

Cover of Darkness: A Novel
Cover of Darkness: A Novel Sian Ann Bessey 1577349857 9781577349853 Visit the website at www.otherpress.com/catastrophist In the tradition of Michael Frayn and David Lodge, an intellectual comedy satirizing love, marriage, and aca
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

Cover of Darkness: A Novel by Sian Ann Bessey

Visit the website at www.otherpress.com/catastrophist In the tradition of Michael Frayn and David Lodge, an intellectual comedy satirizing love, marriage, and academic life. Meet Daniel Wellington. Art historian, academic star, devoted husband, and futurephobe. Although Daniel has known nothing but success, hes convinced the future promises nothing but disaster. When his wife presents him with a tiny, size XXS Yale sweatshirt, Daniel is seized by the impulse to bolt; the specter of imminent fatherhood sends him into a full-blown existential crisis. Soon this well-intentioned, if neurotic, young professor finds himself plotting bigamy, lying about his past, imagining his pregnant wife in the arms of an androgynous graduate student, and explaining to the dean why he e-mailed an obscene suggestion to the naked lead in a student production ofMiss Julie. Naturally, Daniels hilariously deranged behavior brings about the very catastrophes he fears most. From an idyllic New England campus to the rarefied art worlds of Berlin and London,The Catastrophistcharts the rise and fall and partial rebound of an ambivalent but endearing everyman. Razor sharp and riotously funny, this debut novel heralds the appearance of a major new comedic voice in American fiction. What the critics are saying: an American Lucky Jim: an acerbic comedy of manners with serious issues (responsibility and veracity in both marital and global relationships) at its solid core. -Kirkus Reviews, STARRED The Catastrophisttempers its rollicking downward spiral with expert pacing and regular flashes of atmospheric brilliance. It becomes almost impossible not to see in [Daniels] fate the ghost of another literary campus martyr, Coleman Silk of Philip Roths 2000 novel,The Human Stain.Roth menaced his hero with an Ivy Tower that demanded he conceal his roots; Douglas has given us an anti-hero who digs too deep for an imaginary bad seed. In the end, Daniel emerges as a new father with a fresh conception of survival, but the dark shadow of dysfunction hovers over this winsome books sunniest epiphanies. The Forward

Author: Sian Ann Bessey

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 230

Publisher: Covenant Communications Inc

Publication Date: 2002-03-01

Our Price: $4.09

Quantity:5
ISBN: 1577349857


Condition:
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Sian Ann Bessey  Paperback


Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

View Categories > Literature & Fiction
View Categories > Literature & Fiction > Literary
Literary
View Categories > Travel
View Categories > Travel > Europe
Binding > Paperback
View Categories
Binding

* Free Shipping applies to all orders shipped to the contiguous 48 United States. Variable shipping rates apply to Alaska, Hawaii, and the American Territories (Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) as well as International orders shipped to countries other than the USA.