Skip to content
DiscoverBooks app logo Download the Discover Books app Open close button

 

Basilica: The Splendor and the Scandal: Building St. Peters

Basilica: The Splendor and the Scandal: Building St. Peters by R. A. Scotti 0670037761 9780670037766
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary
 

Out of the clash of genius and the caprice of popes came the most glorious monument of the Renaissance It was the splendorand the scandalof the age. In 1506, the ferociously ambitious Renaissance Pope Julius II tore down the most sacred shrine in Europethe millenniumold St. Peters Basilica built by the Emperor Constantine over the apostles graveto build a better basilica. Construction of the new St. Peters spanned two centuries, embroiled twenty-seven popes, and consumed the genius of the greatest artists of the ageMichelangelo, Bramante, Raphael, and Bernini. As the basilica rose, modern Rome rose with it as glorious as the city of the Caesars. But the cost was unimaginable. The new basilica provoked the Protestant Reformation, dividing the Christian world for all time. In this swift, colorful narrative, R. A. Scotti brings to life the artists and the popes, the politics and the passions behind this audacious enterprise. Gothic cathedrals reach up to heaven, but the basilica brings heaven to earth, and the new St. Peters was the defining event of the high Renaissance. In the tradition of Brunelleschis Dome, Scotti turns sacred architecture into a spellbinding human epic of enormous daring, petty jealousy, and staggering genius.

Author: R. A. Scotti

Language: English

Edition: First edition

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 320

Publisher: Viking Adult

Publication Date: 2006-06-08

Our Price: $4.29

Quantity:11

 
ISBN: 0670037761


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
R. A. Scotti First edition Hardcover

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Shop Categories > Arts & Photography
Shop Categories > Arts & Photography > Architecture
Shop Categories > History
Shop Categories > History > World
Shop Categories > History > Europe
Shop Categories > Arts & Photography > Religious
Shop Categories > Arts & Photography > History & Criticism
Shop Categories > Religion & Spirituality
Shop Categories > Religion & Spirituality > Buddhism
Shop Categories > Religion & Spirituality > Christianity
Binding > Hardcover

* Free Shipping applies to all orders of $9 or more shipped to the contiguous 48 United States.