Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card by Sara Saedi 1524717827 9781524717827
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $6.19

Quantity:32

 
ISBN: 1524717827


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoons Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teens experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in todays divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noahs books.


"Very funny but never flippant, Saedi mixes 90s pop culture references, adolescent angst and Iranian history into an intimate, informative narrative." --The New York Times

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didnt learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldnt because she didnt have a Social Security number.

Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didnt keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.

Americanized follows Saras progress toward getting her green card, but thats only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-American teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mothers green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

FEATURED ON NPRS FRESH AIR
A NYPL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST OF THE BEST BOOK SELECTION
A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!

"A must-read, vitally important memoir. . . . Poignant and often LOL funny, Americanized is utterly of the moment."--Bustle

"Read Saedis memoir to push out the poison."--Teen Vogue

"A funny, poignant must read for the times we are living in today."--Pop Sugar

Author: Sara Saedi

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 304

Publisher: Ember

Publication Date: 2019-03-26


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback