Alias Anna: A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis

Alias Anna: A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis by Susan Hood, Greg Dawson 0063083892 9780063083899
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $20.41

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 0063083892


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

The moving true story of how young Ukrainian Jewish piano prodigies Zhanna (alias "Anna") and her sister Frina outplayed their pursuers while hiding in plain sight during the Holocaust. A middle grade nonfiction novel-in-verse by award-winning author Susan Hood with Greg Dawson (Zhannas son).

She wouldnt be Zhanna. Shed use an alias. A for Anna. A for alive.

When the Germans invade Ukraine, Zhanna, a young Jewish girl, must leave behind her friends, her freedom, and her promising musical future at the worlds top conservatory. With no time to say goodbye, Zhanna, her sister Frina, and their entire family are removed from their home by the Nazis and forced on a long, cold, death march. When a guard turns a blind eye, Zhanna flees with nothing more than her musical talent, her beloved sheet music, and her fathers final plea: "I dont care what you do. Just live."

This incredible true story in-verse about sisterhood, survival, and music is perfect for fans of Lifeboat 12, Inside Out and Back Again, and Alan Gratz.

Includes extensive back matter with original letters and photographs, additional information, and materials for further reading.

Author: Susan Hood, Greg Dawson

Language: English

Binding: Hardcover

Pages: 352

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 2022-03-22


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Hardcover