Akata Witch (The Nsibidi Scripts)

Akata Witch (The Nsibidi Scripts) by Nnedi Okorafor 0142420913 9780142420911
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $5.76

Quantity:42

 
ISBN: 0142420913


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 
Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things. -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed the Nigerian Harry Potter, Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding ones place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but shes albino. Shes a terrific athlete, but cant go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a free agent with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
Soon shes part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as shes finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called "stunning" by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Raves for Nnedi Okorafors writing:

Theres more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafors work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics. --Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

"The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!" --Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

I always loved science fiction, but I didnt feel I was part of it--until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor. --Whoopi Goldberg

Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafors work is wonderful! --Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

Jam-packed with mythological wonders. --Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

Okorafors imagination is stunning. --The New York Times Book Review

Author: Nnedi Okorafor

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 384

Publisher: Speak

Publication Date: 2017-07-11


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback
Nnedi Okorafor