A Winters Promise: Book One of The Mirror Visitor Quartet (The Mirror Visitor Quartet, 1)

A Winters Promise: Book One of The Mirror Visitor Quartet (The Mirror Visitor Quartet, 1) by Christelle Dabos 1609456076 9781609456078
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


Our Price: $13.49


ISBN: 1609456076

New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]


Amazon Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book of 2018

One of Entertainment Weeklys 10 Best YA Books of 2018

One of Publishers Weeklys Best YA Book of the Year

A National Indie Bestseller

Longlisted for Irish YA prize Great Reads Award

Lose yourself in the fantastic world of the arks and in the company of unforgettable characters in this French runaway hit, Christelle Dabos The Mirror Visitor quartet.

Plain-spoken, headstrong Ophelia cares little about appearances. Her ability to read the past of objects is unmatched in all of Anima and, whats more, she possesses the ability to travel through mirrors, a skill passed down to her from previous generations. Her idyllic life is disrupted, however, when she is promised in marriage to Thorn, a taciturn and influential member of a distant clan. Ophelia must leave all she knows behind and follow her fianc to Citaceleste, the capital of a cold, icy ark known as the Pole, where danger lurks around every corner and nobody can be trusted. There, in the presence of her inscrutable future husband, Ophelia slowly realizes that she is a pawn in a political game that will have far-reaching ramifications not only for her but for her entire world.

The World of the Arks

Long ago, following a cataclysm called the Rupture, the world was shattered into many floating celestial islands, now known as arks. Over each, the spirit of an omnipotent and immortal ancestor abides. The inhabitants of these arks each possess a unique power. Ophelia, with her ability to read the pasts of objects, must navigate this fantastic, disjointed, perilous world using her trademark tenacity and quiet strength.

An unforgettable heroine, a rich and bountiful universe, intrigue and suspense: A Winters Promise is perfect for readers of Margaret Rogersons An Enchantment of Ravens, Melissa Alberts The Hazel Wood, V.E. Schwabs "Shades of Magic" series, Tomi Adeyemis Children of Blood and Bone, Kenneth Oppels "Airborne" series, and N.K. Jemisin "Broken Earth" series.


I think we could have all lived happily, in a way, God, me and the others, if it werent for that accursed book. It disgusted me. I knew what bound me to it in the most sickening of ways, but the horror of that particular knowledge came later, much later. I didnt understand straight away, I was too ignorant.

Author: Christelle Dabos

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 492

Publisher: Europa Editions

Publication Date: 2020-05-12

Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback