A View Across the Rooftops: An epic, heart-wrenching and gripping World War Two historical novel

A View Across the Rooftops: An epic, heart-wrenching and gripping World War Two historical novel by Suzanne Kelman 1838880348 9781838880347
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $18.06

Quantity:39

 
ISBN: 1838880348


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

Would you risk your life to save just one person?

An incredible story of love, hope and friendship, and a testament to humanity and courage in historys darkest days.

1941, Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. Professor Josef Held has never recovered from the loss of his beloved wife - and has no intention of ever letting anyone new into his quiet, safe world. It is a world where the clock ticks steadily in his mathematics classroom, where every equation has a solution. Every day he walks the same route home, past his neighbour Mrs Epsteins, to a home inhabited only by him and a cat he refuses to even name.

But then the Nazis come for the Jews - and Mrs Epstein is killed. And Josef, in an impulsive act of courage, offers his student Michael Blum a place to hide.

Michael is everything Josef is not: spontaneous, poetic, and unafraid to love. Even though his passionate relationship with a Dutch girl called Elke strictly is forbidden by the Nazis - for he is Jewish, and she is not.

Desperate to give Michael and Elkes love a chance to survive, Josef gives Michael refuge in his attic: an act of bravery and resistance that will change both of their lives. But as the dark days of war continue, with danger and betrayal at every turn, no-one can be trusted, and no one is safe.

If Michael is going to get back to the woman he loves, it is down to Josef - to find the hero inside himself, and do whatever it takes to keep Michael alive.

A heartbreakingly beautiful story about love, trust, and courage against the odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Lilac Girls, and The Nightingale.

Author: Suzanne Kelman

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 396

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: 2019-10-22


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »