A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble by Lisa Moore Rame 0062836692 9780062836694
Stock Image - Actual Cover May Vary


 

Our Price: $4.58

Quantity:55

 
ISBN: 0062836692


Condition:
New [Add $99.00]
Like-New [Add $0.60]
Very-Good [Add $0.40]
Good [Add $0.20]
Acceptable

Quantity:  
Description
 

From debut author Lisa Moore Rame comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for whats right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomass The Hate U Give and the novels of Rene Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and shed also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, its like all the rules have changed. Now shes suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying shes not black enough. Wait, what?

Shays sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesnt think thats for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesnt face her fear, shell be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now thats trouble, for real.

Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Childrens and YA Reading List)

Author: Lisa Moore Rame

Language: English

Binding: Paperback

Pages: 384

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Publication Date: 2020-06-16


Share your shopping experience. Write a review here »

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Binding > Paperback